Day 31

Graveyard Vampire by ChristineD1987

Picture Postcard

She was always sending me things in the mail. Letters, postcards, packages with candy or even FTD flowers once. At least one item a week with her sweet perfume and curvy handwriting.

Our friendship started as pen pals. I was doing time for theft, she was lonely and wanted pen pals. One of my buddies gave me her address and said she’d write back. She certainly did.

I finally got paroled. She wanted to meet, even offered to buy me a plane ticket to her. I got the impression that money wasn’t an issue for her, but she never said for sure and I didn’t ask.

I declined her offer as politely as I knew how. I got my own place in town and started my life over again. The first piece of mail I got at my new apartment was from her. She sent a small package of salt water taffy, my favorite. Inside a card she wrote, Think of me when you eat these, I’ll always be there for you. Hugs.

I thought she phrased it a little odd, but shrugged and opened the bag of taffy. The first piece was green and minty. I sat in the only chair in my apartment and thought it might be nice to visit her once, after all the letters we shared. I glanced at the card and… and the image on it moved.

I closed my eyes, and opened them again, but the room became blurry. The image on the card was fascinating and sickening at the same time. There was a story being shown to me. A ritual sacrifice by vampires who circled around a stone table in a graveyard. Each detail was vivid and alive. I tore my eyes away and looked at the taffy – could have been homemade? Suddenly there were strange noises coming from the card.

One of the vampires had moved to the edge of the image, and began climbing out of the card into my home. I yelled, “You aren’t allowed to come in here.”

The vampire lady smiled. I didn’t know what I was seeing. She sucker punched me while I just stared at her. My last thought before I hit the ground was “Did I eat spiked taffy?” Everything went black.

I opened my eyes to a splitting headache, and a full moon in the clear sky right above me. I looked around, a saw a circle of robed people surrounded me.

A feminine voice said “You should have accepted my offered ticket.”

“Just tell me one thing,” I said. “What was in the taffy?”

“A location spell, with built-in invitation clause if you ate it.”

About Kary

I write many things, prose, poems, flash fiction, short stories, novellas, and novels. Feedback welcome. View all posts by Kary

2 responses to “Day 31

Leave a Reply

