a flash of a memory

time stopped and my vision
zoomed into that one man
standing in the middle
of a large empty parking lot
he didn’t care it was well lit
he didn’t care when i took a picture
his lack of care made him
more formidable

in my rising panic
i had a flash of a memory
and the sun shone
and my first love and i were
in a summer field
attached at the hip
laughing and smiling

the connection hit me
and my stomach dropped
“Samuel, is that you?” I called
into the thick silence
“Samuel?!” I called louder

a stranger yelled from an apartment window
“Shut up lady, we’re trying to sleep.”

i glanced back to the man
who stood exactly like Samuel used to
and the parking lot was empty

About Kary

I write many things, prose, poems, flash fiction, short stories, novellas, and novels. Feedback welcome. View all posts by Kary

2 responses to “a flash of a memory

Leave a Reply

